We Are Back!

It’s Chez Cat mama here today.  What a whirlwind four days we had!  My parents drove all the way up from Texas and spent a week here to visit with the family.  They are leaving Wisconsin today and driving down to New Mexico to start part-time jobs.  Anyway, I spent the last four days with them.

On Saturday, we went to Old World Wisconsin, an outdoor museum.  We visited a lot when we were kids, but hadn’t been there in the last 15 years or so.  It consists of buildings and businesses that were built by different ethnic groups that settled in Wisconsin from the early 1800s to about 1915.  In each building there’s an interpreter dressed in period clothing who will tell the story of the family that lived there.  Here’s some photos to give you and idea.

One of the first churches in Wisconsin.
Inside the church; the altar was painted with feathers. That’s my father standing there.

Inside one of the houses, one of the interpreters was making cornbread.

Making bread the old-fashioned way.

The farms are actually being worked, so they have animals in the barns and crops that are grown.

One of the henhouses.
A pair of oxen

They have a schoolhouse with replicas of the books the children used.  They are for sale in the gift shop.

The schoolhouse is from Raspberry Bay in Northern Wisconsin.

They also hold events throughout the year.  On this particular weekend, they were having a country fair with livestock judging and music.  There was even a parade with the “mayor” in a wagon.

There were vegetables on display, dresses and bonnets for sale, and later on a picnic, but we weren’t there that late.  It was a good day and brought back a lot of memories!

On Sunday we brunched at The Packing House.  Here’s me with my parents.

Can you tell my mother is an old hippie?

Here’s all of us at the brunch, and yes, that is MY Bloody Mary–I deserved it!

The food was great!

My parents stayed with my mother’s brother, and they had a kitty that of course I had to love on.  Meet Muffy (or “knucklehead” as my uncle calls him).  He’s a Maine Coon and a total loverboy.

“Stop calling me names!”

All in all, it was a very nice long weekend with my parents.  They will be back in Wisconsin next April and work through the summer, so I will be able to see them more frequently.

And here’s a picture of my own babies who so patiently let me visit!

We hope you didn’t forget about us!
Tags: ,

6 responses to “We Are Back!”

  1. The Kool~Kittie~Krew says :

    What a cool place that looks to be! We think that Muffy is furry cute! And we could never forget you guys!

  2. Brian says :

    It looks like you sure had a great time and we would never forget you either!!!

  3. The Island Cats says :

    That looks like a really cool place! Our mom says she would really like seeing it.

  4. CCL Wendy says :

    Of course we didn’t forget about you, Lizzie and Connor! It was nice to meet your Maine Coon uncle, though. I’m glad your Mom had a good time with her Mom and Dad. It’s always cool to get in a time machine and go back to the past.

    Luckily, she had a safe trip back and you two were none the wiser.

  5. john says :

    Very educational site. glad i found your page.

  6. Seth Bertalan says :

    Fantastic blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

