Lizzie’s Condition

I finally got a message from the vet–Lizzie’s levels are back down to normal, so now I just have to get her weight back up.  She needs to put on three more pounds, so I have been indulging her a little.  Does anyone have any suggestions for a diet for kitties with pancreas problems?  I’ve looked stuff up online but I’m not sure what would be a good choice.  Thanks so much to everyone who has helped me through this crisis with my little girl!

Tags:

6 responses to “Lizzie’s Condition”

  1. Sweet Praline says :

    I’m sure if you put this question out on the CB that some of them may have some experience. Good luck!

  2. Brian says :

    I’m glad Miss Lizzie is OK! I agree with Sweet Praline, ask over at the Cat Blogosphere, they have lots of helpful critters and humans there.

  3. The Creek Cats says :

    So glad to hear Lizzie’s levels are back to normal. Wish we knew of a good diet, but we’ve never dealt with that condition before.

  4. The Island Cats says :

    We don’t know but we sure hope Lizzie can gain some weight back. We’re glad her blood levels are back to normal!

  5. Rene Schweitzer says :

    I’d suggest a wet, grain-free diet. For the short term, you could try Innova Evo canned. It’s higher in calories and comes in several flavors. Our gang really likes the duck and venison. Nature’s Variety and Wellness also have good grain-free canned formulas.

    FWIW, I’ve had Tucker (who had pancreatitis several years ago) on the grain-free canned Wellness and Evo and he’s doing great.

  6. CCL Wendy says :

    One of my previous cats had pancreatitis, and the vet suggested human baby food (meats) because they were very easily digested. This was for an interim measure, though, I’m sure it wouldn’t hurt long term.

    Definitely try to avoid any kibbles with corn or a high grain content in them. These are very difficult to digest.

Leave a Reply

